Lost Track? Find a New Path.

August 16, 2011

So 多読(Tadoku) seems to have burned me out. I’ve just been relaxing these past two weeks. I’ve tried to stay partially immersed in Japanese but it’s kinda hard; this season of Anime hasn’t caught my interest except for a few shows. Maybe I should look into some new dramas. For the first time in a while I am watching more shows in English than in another language, and that’s no good for a language learner, a serious one anyway.

So starting tomorrow I am going back to some concrete studying. I will be studying Japanese and Korean. I think I might go through Remembering the Kanji (RTK) again. I could probably go through it pretty quickly but let’s start at about 20 kanji a day shall we? I’ll also have an analytical phase of my studying where I do my usual immersion but pay more attention and look up anything I don’t understand or find interesting and put those things into Anki.

I have a few sources for Korean besides dramas. I am currently watching Baby Faced Beauty by the way. It’s a good show with some really cute girls as most K-Dramas tend to have. I will also be listening to this podcast called “ケンチャナヨ韓国語ポッドキャスト”I like them because the lessons are in Japanese so I can “ladder” from Japanese to Korean so to speak. The host 八木早希 (Yagi Saki) has a lovely voice that I can listen to all day if I had the time. The lessons all have little notes to go with the audio. I also have my “Integrated Korean: Beginning 1 and 2,” you can find them on amazon. I used them when I took Korean 1 and 2 at UCLA. Textbooks usually aren’t that fun but I will use it when I feel like it, it will be good for vocab lists.

I’ve been studying the use of Mnemonics for a little while as well and will try to integrate that into my studies.

 

 

Leave a Reply

