Tadoku. Thoughts.

February 2, 2011

So the 多読(Tadoku / Extensive Reading) Online Contest has been over not quite 2 days and I have to say I am quite pleased with my results over the very first contest. In the first contest I managed about 750 pages, mostly thanks to ハリー・ポッターと秘密の部屋 which was just over 500 pages. This time according to the tadokubot I read 3027.9 7pages (ahh, so close to 3028!) I wasn’t really even trying very hard at first (though I did have a goal of 3000 pages). The thing that really got me going was seeing the ranking page, and the fact that it updated in real-time instead of lordsilent having to add everything up each week. After seeing how quickly everyone was reading I decided to step it up a bit. I owe my score to the vast amount of manga I was able to acquire. Perhaps I should list some of the things I read:

小説ー

東京ターワ/作家:江國香織(えくにかおり)ーFunny story I got the audio book of this by mistake (quite a few books names Tokyo Tower, I figured there was only one…) and so next time I went to the bookstore I got the book. It’s a love story, probably written for women but still interesting to me (I read 3 chapters of this book for 多読)

ハリーポッタとアズカバンの囚人ーYeah I got the 3rd Harry Potter Book, only read 28 pages, not that it was too hard I was just more interested in manga this time around, as you can see in the ranking page.

漫画ー

ちょびっツーEveryone knows Chobits right? I read all 8 volumes of this, made me want to watch the series again.

ドラゴンヘッドーI decided to get Dragon Head after seeing LordSilent talk about it on Twitter, the beginning of the story really pulls you in, the ending was just plain weird and confusing though, I read all 10 volumes of this.

BECKーI’ve been buying BECK for quite a while, I had read 10 volumes before this 多読 but got up to volume 25 during the contest.

鋼の錬金術師ーI like how the title just rolls off the tongue, sounds better than Full Metal Alchemist, haha. I like the first Anime series, like the series Brotherhood that followed the manga even more and so far I read 8 volumes.

夏目友人帳ー A good manga about a boy who can see Ayakashi or Youkai. I read 5 volumes of this.

ゲームー
ファイナル・ファンタジーVIIー Classic game for the Playstation, I already started before 多読, but I got 1622 screens out of it, I just got out of Cosmo Canyon and went to Nibelheim.

I also played some iPhone games here and there, since if you have your iPhone language set to 日本語 the game language changes to 日本語。The same goes for certain PS3 games, I was playing a bit of Resonance of Fate (エンドオブイタニティ)、The only thing was difficult for me was the item system, what to keep, what to sell, what to combine or break down for parts. After a while I got the hang of it though.

映画/ドラマ

ハウルの動く城/ポンヨーGhibli films are always cool to watch, I have quite a few but only the Japanese version of these 2 so they have subs in Japanese.

バブルへGO!ーAbout a girl that must travel back in time to prevent the Economic Bubble of Japan from bursting in the 90s. Pretty funny I highly recommend it.

ぐるりのことーThis stars the novelist / actor Lily Frankie, he plays a guy that repairs women’s shoes for a living but decides to become a sketch artist for courtrooms. As the title suggests it’s about “Things happening around you.” The movie had a few interesting points but overall was boring as hell…I recommend 転々 over this movie, though it has the same feel..it’s just better.

パーフェクトレポート(ドラマ)ーI had Japanese subs for this show, watched about 8 of them, not action packed or anything but a good story about new reporters going well above the “call of duty” I guess you’d call it.

—After doing all that reading I was like “I’ll probably not participate in the next contest.” I am pretty exhausted mentally from all of it, and I put a lot of things on the back burner so I could get into the top 5. But who knows I will probably be raring to go in April.

Okay just a few comments about Extensive Reading now. If you do it right it can be a substitute for all those SRS reps you do all the time. I didn’t do any SRSing the whole time and I don’t feel like my level of Japanese has dropped (well I have had several opportunities to speak it so that helps). I did look up some words but not really, if the word is important enough it’ll show up several times in different contexts and you’ll figure it out from there. The mangas Chobits, Tomehane!, Dragon Head, and Bamboo Blade are for readers who are about to get out of high school or older (18+) so there is no furigana to help you out (except for the obscure words and when introducing characters since names can have several readings). If not for 多読 I wouldn’t have thought to even read adult manga, I was so used to that furigana crutch. I was so surprised how quickly I was able to catch on and how many words I recognized already. I had several things to read that were just slightly above my level and some things that were even harder than that, but I managed to get through it. I actually visited my old High School not too long ago and had a nice convo with my Japanese teacher all in Japanese, she was very proud of me of course, so that was definitely an ego booster.

So all in all 多読 is a very useful thing to do every once in a while to help boost your level of Japanese because it makes you go out there and do things in Japanese you never would have before, at least that’s what it did for me.

3 Responses to “Tadoku. Thoughts.”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andre, Nekesu. Nekesu said: Tadoku. Thoughts.: http://wp.me/pANE6-1E […]

  2. Diogo V. Kersting Says:

    Do you have any technique to help counting on #game?

    Counting screens really takes off my concentration.

    • nekesu04 Says:

      Hello Diogo,

      Personally I had no trouble counting the screens for #game. I used a Tally counter on my phone while I played a game, if I wanted to get more into the game I didn’t count much and used a rough estimate not in my favor just to be fair. How did you do during #tadoku? Hope you boosted your language level during that time.


Leave a Reply

