Beachbody Insanity

September 13, 2010

So last week I started the Beachbody Insanity workout. I had done P90x last year, and while I had pretty much kept my arms and shoulders in pretty good shape everything else fell to the wayside. I didn’t really follow the nutrition plan, I don’t have the money for that. It doesn’t matter much for arm strength, that donut you eat is more likely to go to your stomach and thighs, etc. So in the end I was unable to get what I wanted from the workout, abs. I’m sure they are under there somewhere, diet is really important for getting and keeping abs.

Now that I am doing Insanity I am at least counting calories this time around. Someone of my height and weight can have over 3000 calories if you are doing extensive exercise (My BMI is 24 btw). So while i’m not “fat” I am not really in shape, so I decided to change that. The first week of the exercise really kicked my ass, really did a number on my legs, the key is not to follow the people in the video and try to outdo them (at first). I tried doing that for the P90X Plyometrics and I had to ice my legs and could barely walk, haha. What I like about Insanity is that it’s about burning the fat, then working in the muscle. P90X, at least to me, seemed to be about lifting weights and building muscle. I always had muscle fatigue form the workouts of P90x, but the Insanity workouts leaves me exhausted and dripping sweat like crazy. Though I think these workouts are “harder’ than P90X I feel better after doing them, more accomplished.

I don’t know if I will post pics or anything like people usually do, though it is good motivation. I took a pic of myself the first day, and I guess I’ll take some more on day 30 then 60. If I am happy with the results I will probably put them up. I have a good feeling about this 60-day workout.

Leave a Reply

