Reading Contest and Learning Techniques.

August 18, 2010

So we’re about a few days past the halfway mark of the “Read More or Die” contest this month. I’ve been getting most of my pages from 「ハリー・ポッターと秘密の部屋」which is just over 500 pages, and I plan to finish that today, too bad I probably won’t be able to get the third book until after the contest is over. I wouldn’t have gotten through the book so quickly if it wasn’t for this reading contest, I’ve been doing about a chapter a day. I plan to go back through the first two books to get some sentences out of it, there were many interesting words and Kanji that weren’t in Heisig vol. 1, or even vol. 3 for that matter. I am glad I decided to start going through volume three albeit slowly, but that’s how I do things.

I also have been been reading a lot of things in English this month as well (I know, shame on me). I’ve been taking a look at Benny the Irish polyglot’s book “The Language Hacking Guide.” I’m about halfway through the PDF and plan on looking at the other content that comes with it later, the interviews that come with it are what makes it worth it to me. I mostly bought it because I like to support people, I’ve been following many language learning blogs and it is inspiring to see them grow and finally start making some money for all that info they’ve been giving people for free. The blogs I follow most are AJATT, Tofugu, and Fluent in 3 Months. The learning techniques I have gotten for them and other bloggers has helped me immensely, I think I have learned more Japanese this year than all the years in school combined.

Also for the Harry Potter books I’ve been using the Parallel reading technique, you know, what Tom Hanks does to learn English in that movie “The Terminal.” Basically you read a page, or several pages in your mother tongue and then read that same material in your L2. This technique does indeed work if you have enough focus. At the very least it prevents you from grabbing for a dictionary every couple of minutes because (if the translation is good enough) you pretty much know what it is being said. It also allows you to point out words and phrases: “Oh so that’s how you’d say “Moaning Myrtle in Japanese(嘆きのマーテル)” etc, etc.
The other book I have been reading is “How to Develop a Super Power Memory” by Harry Lorrayne. I doubt this book will help with learning languages, but I might be able to find a way to use it in such a way. But this book will definitely help my overall observation skills and help me remember things like 50-digit numbers, peoples names and faces, or at least that what it promises. After a few days I have found it easier to remember some things after only seeing it once. We’ll see how much better I get as I progress through the book. Because of all of this reading I haven’t been adding too many sentences to my SRS lately, I need to get back on that. I have about 1340 sentences, I use the online SRS “surusu” made by Khatzumoto of AJATT. I still don’t think I am using the full potential of it, every now and then I go on it and see new features and have no idea what they do.

Anyways there’s my update, there is a lot more going on but I can’t show you all my cards just yet =P

One Response to “Reading Contest and Learning Techniques.”


  1. Thanks a million for the support 🙂 People like you helping support us means we can put more time into putting out FREE content to help inspire many more learners! That’s the best part about earning money from my LHG, it’s not the dream of becoming a millionaire and living on a tropical island, but having the extra time not working on something dull to focus on helping others! Thanks!! 😀

    Hopefully I’ll find a Japanese translator for the guide to help people parallel read it. In a few weeks it will be updated in over 20 languages, so people are doing this already with their target languages but I still haven’t found a native Japanese translator yet!

    I’m glad you are enjoying the guide itself too 😉


Leave a Reply

