Sentence Mining. German.

July 18, 2010

Recently I finished mining this book for sentences. It’s called “Japanese Sentence Patterns for Effective Communication,” I might have   talked about it in an earlier post. Anyways I typed out all 1200 sentences that were in the book, give or take a dozen or so. The book has 142 sentence patterns each with 8-10 example sentences. I use Surusu, made by AJATT, for my SRSing. One of my friends keeps asking me “why don’t you use Anki?” I don’t have a good answer, just wanted to try something new, and with all the free decks that Anki has available I don’t think I would have been typing out the sentences myself, which I have been doing. I’ve seen most of the sentences in the deck at least twice, besides the last 20 or so I just put in the deck. I have had this book for almost five years now, and I have never really used it until a couple of summers ago when I was taking Japanese 100A-C (intermediate). I used to look through and read aloud sentences every night before going to sleep, dunno if it actually helped but it felt like it did, and that’s all that matters sometimes.

I also recently bought Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in Japanese along with the audio book. It’s called 「ハリー・ポッターと秘密の部屋」 I think they could’ve used a better word than 『部屋」cause it just means “room” and “sumo stable” according to my dictionary, and the people that know Harry Potter knows that it’s not exactly a room he finds himself in. But then I look again at my dictionary and see this : 隠し部屋 - かく・し|へ・や – Kakushi heya. The definition is “Hidden room, secret chamber,” so okay that works. In fact most of the words with “chamber” in it use  the Kanji 「室」maybe I should start learning more keywords than just the one that Heisig gives you, but that might make me mix up the Kanji even more than I do. So for this Harry Potter book I have decided to use an old language study method, if anyone knows what the name is please let me know, where basically you read part of the book in your native language and then read that same part in your target language. It has been working out very well, especially well because of the audiobook 朗読:江守徹 (recited by Emori Tooru). 江守さん has a great voice, and he is able to do the voice of all those characters and make then each unique, very impressive. When I read the first book I just simply read it, I understood it for the most part and I will probably skim through it again to get some sentences out of it. I have been using this method a bit with Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis, in German it’s called “Die Verwandlung” which means “The Transformation.It’s really hard though, maybe I shouldn’t be trying to read a book like that so early, but my dad happened to have it cause he took 4 years of German in High School, and the very first book he ever bought was “The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich,” I thought that was interesting. He wants to visit Prague sometime next year, and since I like German also i thought I would learn some of the basics at least.

Being a beginner again is fun, like you’re a kid, but you also feel lost but at least when lost I can grab onto Japanese and still have some “immersion”  going on. I even started using a smart.fm deck that has Deutsche to Japanese. For Example Ich bin =私は Die Studentin=女子学生。。等等。Cool right? I at least know what that method is called, the “Laddering Method.” I may not be fluent in Japanese yet, but learning an L3 with your L2 makes you think in your L2, at least it does for me.

Back to the Sentence Mining. The magic number is 10,000 according to AJATT, but many people have found, and as I will find, that 10,000 is just a good base. By the time you master 10,000 sentences you should be pretty damn good in whatever language you are studying, but language learning is a lifetime commitment, and I will always want more. That’s all for now, Auf Wiedersehen、左様なら〜

The next book I will mine for sentences is called : “Japanese Verbs at a Glance

2 Responses to “Sentence Mining. German.”

  1. Gen Says:

    Hey there!

    I don’t suppose I could be *terrifically* greedy and ask for a copy of your sentences from Japanese Sentence Patterns for Effective Conversation, could I? I love the heck out of that book, and I was going to mine that one next, but if you’ve *done* it already…

    Thanks for your time! Even if you say no. 🙂 I’m spending today mining Japanese Verbs At A Glance, and then The Handbook of Japanese Adjectives and Adverbs. Tomorrow, probably some stuff from a magazine…

    –G

    • nekesu04 Says:

      That wouldn’t be at all greedy of you. Unfortunately I use an online SRS program. So until they allow exporting of decks then I won’t be able to give them out. I didn’t want to use Anki cause I would be tempted to just download other ppls decks and not type everything out myself. How are you liking the “Verbs at a Glance” book? I’ve been taking sentences from that recently.


Leave a Reply

