Finished Remembering the Kanji Book 1

June 15, 2010

It’s been a long 7 and a half months, but I have finally finished Heisig’s “Remembering the Kanji” Book 1. Normally I don’t stick to any one task this long, I guess that shows how much I love Japanese. I’ve been doing sentence mining / reviews every since I got to 1000 Kanji, at about 900 sentences now (only 9100 to go! according to the AJATT method). I may not get as far as 10,000 sentences, I might go further, we’ll see. I will continue doing the RTK reviews just not as hardcore as I was (but could I possibly go any slower? haha). I was thinking about taking the JLPT this year but I really hate tests, and passing the JLPT 1 just means you can talk to a 1st year middle-schooler and keep up with them, but even that isn’t certain. I just want to get good enough to go over to Japan and do an interview in Japanese and get a job.

One Response to “Finished Remembering the Kanji Book 1”

  1. Lan'dorien Says:

    Nicely done!

    I had thought about JLPT too, but concluded that for my purposes it was irrelevant. If I can understand what I’m reading, as far as I’m concerned, I pass; if not, then I need to study more, that’s all, no test required to tell me that.

    If you want to work in Japan though it’s probably necessary …


Leave a Reply

