Japanese Only threads.

May 27, 2010

I’ve seen a lot of them so I figured I should just spit a rant about them right now. You don’t have to listen to what I say, just stating my opinion.

STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM “JAPANESE ONLY” THREADS IF YOU’RE LEARNING JAPANESE.

Of course I mean “Japanese” as in the language not the people. Japanese learners are a funny breed, they like to stick together with other Japanese learners, in some cases that can be a bad idea. I never speak to other Japanese learners in Japanese, well I don’t speak much in English either, but at least whatever I am saying is correct and makes sense to the other person. I hate when I tell people I am learning Japanese and they say “so say something in Japanese,” I could say “F*** you and yo mama” or “Have a lovely day” and you wouldn’t know what the hell I was saying so why would I speak Japanese to you? Anyways back to them forum threads. I suppose occasionally its fun to through a few lines at each other. But depending on your level you’re bound to say something wrong, and no one will be there to correct you (most of the time,) and maybe the person that does correct you isn’t a native speaker so it could be incorrect. So the conversation will continue for pages and pages of wrong Japanese and then that wrong Japanese will be chiseled into your mind and お仕舞い (That’s all folks~).

Like I said in the beginning, I could be totally wrong about all this, but it does seem like something like this could easily happen right? So just talk to yourself, your picture of Horikita Maki on your wall, your Japanese friends, but stay away from your Japanese learner friends, they’re not good for speaking or writing practice in my opinion. Okay that’s all I have to say about that, I’ve been using Lang-8 quite a bit recently and everyone on there has been a real help, maybe that’s why I felt like ranting like this all of a sudden.

I suppose I can update you on my RTK progress as well, 1946/2042 ベビー〜 haha.
So close yet so far away, I’m also doing sentence mining but I am thinking of trying some methods for learning the Kanji readings after I am done with RTK, i’ll see what works best and write a post about it.

Leave a Reply

